Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Oxford Dictionary of National Biography. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 07 July 2022

Labour Representation Committee members of the British parliament elected in 1906free

Labour Representation Committee members of the British parliament elected in 1906free

At the general election of 1906, twenty-nine members of parliament were elected under the auspices of the Labour Representation Committee. They took the name Labour Party and were therefore the first members of the Parliamentary Labour Party, Keir Hardie being elected as their chairman in February 1906 see Leaders of the Labour Representation Committee and the Labour Party. They are listed below with their constituencies and affiliations.

George Nicoll Barnes (1859–1940); Glasgow (Blackfriars); engineers

Charles William Bowerman (1851?–1947); Deptford; compositors

John Robert Clynes (1869–1949); Manchester North East; Independent Labour Party

Will Crooks (1852–1921); Woolwich; Poplar Labour League

Charles Duncan (1865–1933); Barrow-in-Furness; engineers

Alfred Henry Gill (1856–1914); Bolton; cotton spinners

Thomas Glover (1852–1913); St Helens; miners

(James) Keir Hardie (1856–1915); Merthyr; Independent Labour Party

Arthur Henderson (1863–1935); Barnard Castle; ironfounders

John Hodge (1855–1937); Gorton; steel smelters

Walter Hudson (1852–1935); Newcastle upon Tyne; railwaymen

John Hogan Jenkins (1852–1936); Cardiff; shipwrights

Frederick William Jowett (1864–1944); Bradford West; Independent Labour Party

George Davy Kelley (1848–1911); Manchester South-West; lithographic printers

(James) Ramsay MacDonald (1866–1937); Leicester; Independent Labour Party

John Thomas Macpherson (1872–1921); Preston; steel smelters

James O'Grady (1866–1934); Leeds East; furniture trades

James Parker (1863–1948); Halifax; Independent Labour Party

Thomas Frederick Richards (1863–1942); Wolverhampton West; boot and shoe operatives

George Henry Roberts (1868–1928); Norwich; Typographical Association

James Andrew Seddon (1868–1939); Newton, Lancashire; shop assistants

David James Shackleton (1863–1938); Clitheroe; weavers

Philip Snowden (1864–1937); Blackburn; Independent Labour Party

Thomas Summerbell (1861–1910); Sunderland; Typographical Association

Will Thorne (1857–1946); West Ham; gasworkers

Stephen Walsh (1859–1929); Ince, Lancashire; miners

George James Wardle (1865–1947); Stockport; railwaymen

Alexander Wilkie (1850–1928); Dundee; shipwrights

William Tyson Wilson (1855–1921); West Houghton, Lancashire; carpenters and joiners