Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Oxford Dictionary of National Biography. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 28 January 2020

Westminster assemblylocked

(act. 1643–1652)
  • Chad Van Dixhoorn


Westminster assembly (act. 1643–1652), was both an extension of the Long Parliament and the last of the great post-Reformation synods. Its membership comprised approximately 120 clergymen, 20 members of the House of Commons, and 10 members of the House of Lords [for a complete listing [...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Access to the full content requires a subscription