1-5 of 5 Results  for:

  • member of parliament x
Clear all


Ghose, Aurobindo [known as Sri Aurobindo] (1872–1950), politician and spiritual leader in India, was born at 14 South Circular Road, Calcutta, on 15 August 1872, the third son of Krishna Dhan Ghose (1844–1892/3), a civil medical officer, and Swarnalata Bose or Basu...


Katial, Chuni Lal (1898–1978), physician and politician, was born in the Punjab, India. He graduated MBBS in 1922 from Lahore University, with honours in medicine and surgery, then joined the Indian Medical Service (IMS) and for five years, as a captain in the service attached to the ...


Naidu [née Chattopadhyay], Sarojini (1879–1949), politician and poet, born on 13 February 1879 in Hyderabad, was the second child and eldest daughter of Aghornath Chattopadhyay (Chatterji; 1851–1915) and his wife, Baradasundari, otherwise Varada Devi. Her younger brother, Virendranath (Chatto) Chattopadhyaya...


Maker: unknown photographer

Sarojini Naidu (1879–1949) by unknown photographer, 1930 [Left to right] Mahatma Gandhi (1869–1948) and , during the salt march] Getty Images


S. V. FitzGerald

revised by Tapan Raychaudhuri

Sinha, Satyendra Prasanno, first Baron Sinha (1863–1928), politician, was born on 24 March 1863 at the village of Raipur in the Birbhum district of Bengal, the youngest son of Sitikantha Sinha, a Kayastha zamindar and middle-ranking bureaucrat. He passed the entrance examination from ...