We use cookies to enhance your experience on our website. By continuing to use our website, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more
Reference list

Ministers and secretaries of state for health (1919–2012)

In June 1919 government health policy passed from the Local Government Board to a newly created Ministry of Health. From its formation, the minister for health (from 1968 a secretary of state) has held a seat in cabinet. In October 1968 the health ministry was incorporated with the Department of Social Security. It was known as the Department of Health and Social Security until July 1988 when it reverted to the Department of Health, headed by a secretary of state for health.
1919–1921Christopher Addison (1869–1951)
1921–1922Sir Alfred Moritz Mond, first baronet (1868–1930)
1922–1923Sir Arthur Sackville Trevor Griffith-Boscawen (1865–1946)
1923 (March–Oct)(Arthur) Neville Chamberlain (1869–1940)
1923–1924Sir William Joynson-Hicks, first baronet (1865–1932)
1924 (Jan–Oct)John Wheatley (1869–1930)
1924–1929(Arthur) Neville Chamberlain (1869–1940)
1929–1931Arthur Greenwood (1880–1954)
1931 (Aug–Nov)(Arthur) Neville Chamberlain (1869–1940)
1931–1935Sir (Edward) Hilton Young (1879–1960)
1935–1938Sir (Howard) Kingsley Wood (1881–1943)
1938–1940Walter Elliot Elliot (1888–1958)
1940–1941Malcolm John MacDonald (1901–1981)
1941–1943(Alfred) Ernest Brown (1881–1962)
1943–1945Henry Urmston Willink (1894–1973)
1945–1951Aneurin [Nye] Bevan (1897–1960)
1951 (Jan–Oct)Hilary Adair Marquand (1901–1972)
1951–1952Harry Frederick Comfort Crookshank (1893–1961)
1952–1955Iain Norman MacLeod (1913–1970)
1955–1957(Robert) Hugh Turton (1903–1994)
1957 (Jan–Sept)Dennis Forwood Vosper (1916–1968)
1957–1960Derek Colclough Walker-Smith (1910–1992)
1960–1963(John) Enoch Powell (1912–1998)
1963–1964Anthony Perrinott Lysberg Barber (1920–2005)
1964–1968Kenneth Robinson (1911–1996)
1968–1970Richard Howard Stafford Crossman (1907–1974)
1970–1974Sir Keith Sinjohn Joseph, second baronet (1918–1994)
1974–1976Barbara Anne Castle (1910–2002)
1976–1979David Hedley Ennals (1922–1995)
1979–1981(Charles) Patrick Fleeming Jenkin (b. 1926)
1981–1987(Peter) Norman Fowler (b. 1938)
1987–1988John Edward Michael Moore (b. 1937)
1988–1990Kenneth Harry Clarke (b. 1940)
1990–1992William Arthur Waldegrave (b. 1946)
1992–1995Virginia Hilda Brunette Maxwell Bottomley (b. 1948)
1995–1997Stephen James Dorrell (b. 1952)
1997–1999Frank Gordon Dobson (b. 1940)
1999–2003Alan Milburn (b. 1958)
2003–2005John Reid (b. 1947)
2005–2007Patricia Hope Hewitt (b. 1948)
2007–2009Alan Arthur Johnson (b. 1950)
2009–2010Andrew Murray Burnham (b. 1970)
2010–2012Andrew David Lansley (b. 1956)
2012–Jeremy Richard Streynsham Hunt (b. 1966)