We use cookies to enhance your experience on our website. By continuing to use our website, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more
Reference list

Signatories of the Declaration of Independence of the United States of America (1776)

The Declaration of Independence was the work of a committee of the continental congress (established to co-ordinate opposition to legislation of the British parliament regarding its North American colonies) set up following a resolution proposed by Richard Henry Lee on 7 June 1776. The committee, chaired by Thomas Jefferson, reported on 28 June; it charged George III with acting tyrannically towards his colonies and asserted their independence on the basis of the ‘inherent and inalienable rights’ of free men. Congress approved the declaration on 2 July 1776, and it was printed on 4 July, the day later celebrated as Independence day. It was not however signed until 2 August; some names, including those of Matthew Thornton, Elbridge Gerry, and Thomas McKean, were added later. The names were not publicized until 19 January 1777.

In this list the names of the signatories are arranged by state, as they appeared in the original document; the only name not to be attached to a state is that of John Hancock, who signed as president of the continental congress.

John Hancock (1737–1793)
New HampshireJosiah Bartlett (1729–1795)
William Whipple (1730–1785)
Matthew Thornton (c.1714–1803)
MassachusettsSamuel Adams (1722–1803)
John Adams (1735–1826)
Robert Treat Paine (1731–1814)
Elbridge Gerry (1744–1814)
Rhode IslandStephen Hopkins (1707–1785)
William Ellery (1727–1820)
ConnecticutRoger Sherman (1721–1793)
Samuel Huntington (1731–1796)
William Williams (1731–1811)
Oliver Wolcott (1726–1797)
New YorkWilliam Floyd (1734–1821)
Philip Livingston (1716–1778)
Francis Lewis (1713–1802)
Lewis Morris (1726–1798)
New JerseyRichard Stockton (1730–1781)
John Witherspoon (1723–1794)
Francis Hopkinson (1737–1791)
John Hart (1714–1779)
Abraham Clark (1726–1794)
North CarolinaWilliam Hooper (1742–1790)
Joseph Hewes (1730–1779)
John Penn (1740–1788)
GeorgiaButton Gwinnett (bap. 1735, d. 1777)
Lyman Hall (1724–1790)
George Walton (1749/50–1804)
PennsylvaniaRobert Morris (1735–1806)
Benjamin Rush (1746–1813)
Benjamin Franklin (1706–1790)
John Morton (1725–1777)
George Clymer (1739–1813)
James Smith (1719–1806)
George Taylor (1716?–1781)
James Wilson (1742–1798)
George Ross (1730–1779)
DelawareCaesar Rodney (1728–1784)
George Read (1733–1798)
Thomas McKean (1734–1817)
MarylandSamuel Chase (1741–1811)
William Paca (1740–1799)
Thomas Stone (1743–1787)
Charles Carroll [known as Charles Carroll of Carrollton] (1737–1832)
VirginiaGeorge Wythe (1725/6–1806)
Richard Henry Lee (1733–1794)
Thomas Jefferson (1743–1826)
Benjamin Harrison (c.1726–1791)
Thomas Nelson junior (1738–1789)
Francis Lightfoot Lee (1734–1797)
Carter Braxton (1736–1797)
South CarolinaEdward Rutledge (1749–1800)
Thomas Heyward junior (1746–1809)
Thomas Lynch junior
Arthur Middleton (1742–1787)