We use cookies to enhance your experience on our website. By continuing to use our website, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more
Reference list

Nobel prize-winners in the Oxford DNB

The Nobel prizes were instituted by the will of Alfred Nobel (1833–1896), the Swedish industrialist and inventor of dynamite. The prizes were first awarded in 1901, for outstanding achievements in literature, chemistry, physics, and physiology or medicine, and for contributions to peace. Since 1902 the prizes have been presented by the ruling monarch of Sweden. The Bank of Sweden prize in economics has been awarded since 1969. The awards are made at a formal ceremony held annually on 10 December (the date of Nobel's death). From the outset is has been possible for prizes to be shared, a practice that has grown more frequent, especially in the scientific subjects. Since 1968 the number of prize-winners able to share a particular award has been limited to three.

The prize-winners for chemistry and physics are chosen by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences; for physiology or medicine by the Karolinska Institute; and for literature by the Swedish Academy. A committee appointed by the Norwegian Storting decides on the winners of the peace prize. The Bank of Sweden prize in economics—technically not a Nobel prize but created in memory of Alfred Nobel and awarded at the same ceremony—is awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

The following lists consist of Nobel prize-winners with entries in the Oxford DNB, ordered by date of award.

Nobel prize-winners in chemistry

1904Sir William Ramsay (1852–1916)
1908Ernest Rutherford (1871–1937)
1921Frederick Soddy (1877–1956)
1922Francis William Aston (1877–1945)
1929Arthur Harden (1865–1940)
1937(Walter) Norman Haworth (1883–1950)
1947 Robert Robinson (1886–1975)
1952Richard Laurence Millington Synge (1914–1994) and Archer John Porter Martin (1910–2002)
1956Sir Cyril Norman Hinshelwood (1897–1967)
1957Sir Alexander Robertus Todd (1907–1997)
1962John Cowdery Kendrew (1917–1997) and Max Ferdinand Perutz (1914–2002)
1964Dorothy Mary Crowfoot Hodgkin (1910–1994)
1967Ronald George Wreyford Norrish (1897–1978) and George Porter (1920–2002)
1969Derek Harold Richard Barton (1918–1998)
1973Geoffrey Wilkinson (1921–1996)
1978Peter Dennis Mitchell (1920–1992)
1993Michael Smith (1932–2000)
1998John Anthony Pople (1925–2004)

Nobel prize-winners in physics

1904John William Strutt, third Baron Rayleigh (1842–1919)
1906Joseph John Thomson (1856–1940)
1909Guglielmo Marconi (1874–1937)
1915William Henry Bragg (1862–1942)
1915(William) Lawrence Bragg (1890–1971)
1917Charles Glover Barkla (1877–1944)
1927Charles Thomson Rees Wilson (1869–1959)
1928Owen Willans Richardson (1879–1959)
1930Sir (Chandrasekhara) Venkata Raman (1888–1970)
1933Paul Adrien Maurice Dirac (1902–1984)
1935James Chadwick (1891–1974)
1937George Paget Thomson (1892–1975)
1947Sir Edward Victor Appleton (1892–1965)
1948Patrick Maynard Stuart Blackett (1897–1974)
1950Cecil Frank Powell (1903–1969)
1951Sir John Douglas Cockcroft (1897–1967)
1951Ernest Thomas Sinton Walton (1903–1995)
1954Max Born (1882–1970)
1971Dennis Gabor (1900–1979)
1974Sir Martin Ryle (1918–1984)
1977Sir Nevill Francis Mott (1905–1996)
1978Peter Leonidovich Kapitza (1894–1984)
1979Muhammad Abdus Salam (1926–1996)
1983Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar (1910–1995)

Nobel prize-winners in physiology or medicine

1902Ronald Ross (1857–1932)
1922Archibald Vivian Hill (1886–1977)
1923Frederick Grant Banting (1891–1941)
1923John James Rickard Macleod (1876–1935)
1929Sir Frederick Gowland Hopkins (1861–1947)
1932Edgar Douglas Adrian, first Baron Adrian (1889–1977)
1932Sir Charles Scott Sherrington (1857–1952)
1936Sir Henry Hallett Dale (1875–1968)
1945Ernst Boris Chain (1906–1979)
1945Sir Alexander Fleming (1881–1955)
1945Sir Howard Walter Florey (1898–1968)
1953Hans Adolf Krebs (1900–1981)
1960Sir Frank Macfarlane Burnet (1899–1985)
1960Peter Brian Medawar (1915–1987)
1962Francis Harry Compton Crick (1916–2004)
1962Maurice Hugh Frederick Wilkins (1916–2004)
1963Sir John Carew Eccles (1903–1997)
1963Alan Lloyd Hodgkin (1914–1998)
1970Sir Bernard Katz (1911–2003)
1972Rodney Robert Porter (1917–1985)
1973Nikolaas Tinbergen (1907–1988)
1979Godfrey Newbold Hounsfield (1919–2004)
1982John Robert Vane (1927–2004)
1984Niels Kaj Jerne (1911–1994) and César Milstein (1927–2002)

Nobel prize-winners in literature

1907(Joseph) Rudyard Kipling (1865–1936)
1913Rabindranath Tagore (1861–1941)
1923William Butler Yeats (1865–1939)
1925George Bernard Shaw (1856–1950)
1932John Galsworthy (1867–1933)
1948Thomas Stearns Eliot (1888–1965)
1950Bertrand Arthur William Russell, third Earl Russell (1872–1970)
1953Sir Winston Leonard Spencer Churchill (1874–1965)
1969Samuel Barclay Beckett (1906–1989)
1973Patrick Victor Martindale White (1912–1990)
1981Elias Canetti (1905–1994)
1983William Gerald Golding (1911–1993)
2005Harold Pinter (1930–2008)

Nobel prize-winners for peace

1903William Randal Cremer (1828–1908)
1925Sir (Joseph) Austen Chamberlain (1863–1937)
1933Sir (Ralph) Norman Angell (1872–1967)
1934Arthur Henderson (1863–1935)
1937(Edgar Algernon) Robert Gascoyne-Cecil, Viscount Cecil of Chelwood (1864–1958)
1949John Boyd Orr, Baron Boyd Orr (1880–1971)
1957Lester Bowles Pearson (1897–1972)
1959Philip John Noel-Baker (1889–1982)
1960Albert John Luthuli (1898?–1967)
1974Seán MacBride (1904–1988)
1975Joseph Rotblat (1908–2005)

Bank of Sweden prize-winners in economics

1972Sir John Richard Hicks (1904–1989)
1974Friedrich August Hayek (1899–1992)
1977James Edward Meade (1907–1995)
1979Sir (William) Arthur Lewis (1915–1991)
1984Sir (John) Richard Nicholas Stone (1913–1991)
2003Clive William John Granger (1934–2009)