We use cookies to enhance your experience on our website. By continuing to use our website, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more
Reference list

Governors-general and viceroys of India (1773–1950)

From 1773 the governor of the province of Bengal was, by virtue of his office, governor-general of the territories of the East India Company. In 1834 the office of governor-general of India was formally created. From 1858, when the government of India was transferred from the East India Company to the crown, the governor-general was given the additional title of viceroy. The office continued to exist following the partition of India, in 1947, until 1950, during which time India had dominion status. In the intervals between appointments, and while governors-general were on leave, others temporarily assumed the responsibilities of the office: among these were Sir Alured Clarke (1744–1832); John Adam (1779–1825); (Arthur) Oliver Villiers Russell, second Baron Ampthill (1869–1935); Victor Alexander George Robert Bulwer-Lytton, second earl of Lytton (1876–1947); George Joachim Goschen, second Viscount Goschen (1866–1952); Michael Herbert Rudolph Knatchbull-Hugessen, fifth Baron Brabourne (1895–1939); and George Frederick Stanley (1872–1938).
1773–1785Warren Hastings (1732–1818)
1785–1786Sir John Macpherson, first baronet (c.1745–1821)
1786–1793Charles Cornwallis, first Marquess Cornwallis (1738–1805)
1793–1798Sir John Shore, first baronet (1751–1834)
1798–1805Richard Wellesley, second earl of Mornington [see Wellesley, Richard, Marquess Wellesley (1760–1842)]
1805 (July–Oct)Charles Cornwallis, first Marquess Cornwallis (1738–1805)
1805–1807Sir George Hilaro Barlow, first baronet (1763–1846)
1807–1813Gilbert Elliot Murray Kynynmound [formerly Gilbert Elliot], first earl of Minto (1751–1814)
1813–1823Francis Rawdon Hastings, first marquess of Hastings and second earl of Moira (1754–1826)
1823–1828William Pitt Amherst, first Earl Amherst of Arracan (1773–1857)
1828–1835Lord William Henry Cavendish-Bentinck [known as Lord William Bentinck] (1774–1839)
1835–1842George Eden, earl of Auckland (1784–1849)
1842–1844Edward Law, second Baron Ellenborough (1790–1871)
1844–1848Sir Henry Hardinge [see Henry Hardinge, first Viscount Hardinge of Lahore (1785–1856)]
1848–1856James Andrew Broun Ramsay, first marquess of Dalhousie (1812–1860)
1856–1862Charles John Canning, Earl Canning (1812–1862)
1862–1863James Bruce, eighth earl of Elgin and twelfth earl of Kincardine (1811–1863)
1864–1869Sir John Laird Mair Lawrence, first baronet (1811–1879)
1869–1872Richard Southwell Bourke, sixth earl of Mayo (1822–1872)
1872–1876Thomas George Baring, second Baron Northbrook (1826–1904)
1876–1880Edward Robert Bulwer-Lytton, second Baron Lytton (1831–1891)
1880–1884George Frederick Samuel Robinson, first marquess of Ripon (1827–1909)
1884–1888Frederick Temple Hamilton-Temple-Blackwood, first earl of Dufferin (1826–1902)
1888–1894Henry Charles Keith Petty-Fitzmaurice, fifth marquess of Lansdowne (1845–1927)
1894–1899Victor Alexander Bruce, ninth earl of Elgin and thirteenth earl of Kincardine (1849–1917)
1899–1905George Nathaniel Curzon, Baron Curzon of Kedleston (1859–1925)
1905–1910Gilbert John Elliot Murray Kynynmound, fourth earl of Minto (1845–1914)
1910–1916Charles Hardinge, first Baron Hardinge of Penshurst (1858–1944)
1916–1921Frederic John Napier Thesiger, third Baron Chelmsford (1868–1933)
1921–1926Rufus Daniel Isaacs, first earl of Reading (1860–1935)
1926–1931Edward Frederick Lindley Wood, Baron Irwin [see Edward Frederick Lindley Wood, first earl of Halifax (1881–1959)]
1931–1936Freeman Freeman-Thomas, first earl of Willingdon (1866–1941)
1936–1943Victor Alexander John Hope, second marquess of Linlithgow (1887–1952)
1943–1947Archibald Percival Wavell, Viscount Wavell (1883–1950)
1947 (pre-partition); 1947–1948Louis Francis Albert Victor Nicholas Mountbatten, first Earl Mountbatten of Burma (1900–1979)
1948–1950Chakravarti Rajagopalachari (1878–1972)

M. C. Curthoys